Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Interior and Electrical
User Name
Password

Old 07-14-2017, 12:11 PM
Lateral-g Supporting Member

Default Powerhouse starter sudden disengagement???

Checking to see if anyone has run into this problem. I have a POWERMASTER starter on my 572 as it turns over the starter will disengage on its own then try and reengage making one hell of a grinding noise , It doesn't matter if it's hot or cold it will still do it. Gotta figure it out I don't want to chew up the flywheel.

Last edited by DOOM; 07-14-2017 at 12:40 PM. Reason: WRONG BRAND!! NOT POWERHOUSE
Old 07-14-2017, 05:17 PM

I'd check the starter gear engagement depth. You can pry it out manually and see how much overlap there is. There is a spec for it which GM or your starter manufacturer should have. I'd also check there tooth mesh to see if the starter needs shimmed.
Old 07-15-2017, 02:21 PM

put a meter on it and see if its dropping power and reapplying causing the issue.
Old 07-16-2017, 08:12 AM

For what it's worth, I run the PowerMaster starter 9426 on my 572ci first gen Camaro. We have had no problems like what you described. We did remove the starters' axial shim that came installed out of the box. The axial shim was preventing the starter gear to engage the flexplate teeth properly. With shim removed, my gear now engages about 80% axially into the flexplate. It works perfectly like this. We also verified proper radial gear clearance and found good mesh without adding shims.
One final thought, we used the 9426 starter which allows all three starter bolt locations to be utilized instead of just two. Your 572 block should have all three tapped holes for this which provides a really good stable mount. And make sure to use knurled bolts from GM or equivalent to prevent starter movement.
Does this help?
Old 07-16-2017, 08:49 AM

Thanked 1,076 Times in 384 Posts