Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Lateral-G Open Discussions > Project Updates
User Name
Password

Old 08-18-2013, 07:41 PM

Default Yet another 2nd Gen Camaro - Project/update

I've been on the board for a while now and met a few of the guys on the board, even some with cars that actually work , but never really posted too much about my ride. I've got a 72 Camaro that I use as a driver and have been learning on the Autocross and Road courses. I'm not an idiot with cars but I am not a pro fabricator, welders, or body man. I'm just a normal guy teaching myself as I go along. The car has a 377 SBC I built with a forged bottom end, some 195cc heads, a nice solid flat tappet and a TB fuel injection. Trans is a T56 Mag with a mechanical linkage and Quicktime bell. Brakes are C5 front and LS rear. Hotchkis rear leafs, QA1 rear shocks, QA1 front coil overs, tubular UCA, boxed factory LCA with delrin bushings and DSE subframe connectors. Most of the car was build from used parts where possible because I can't afford all the crazy billet stuff I would love. I'm a bit more into function over beauty but try to balance as best I can. It makes decent power but nothing too crazy. It has run a 12.6 @ 113 at the strip with a miserable 2.3 sec 60 ft. I have also passed some BMW's and Vettes on occasion at T- hill and TWS. All in all a good street car that is fun because most of the time it's actually running.

An issue has come around that I baked the rear axle at texas World Speedway the other week and decided I needed to change the suspension setup. It was 106 outside which along with the large front stretch and a gear setup that was not spot on I ended up with the axle howling at me @ ~110mph. I limped it around for the day and concentrated on hitting lines on the turns more and did learn alot. When I got home I decided it was time to order some new parts because the factory 10 bolt was really starting to scare me anyways.....