Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Engine
User Name
Password

Old 01-10-2005, 04:57 PM

Question Turbo Questions... (Please move to Technical)

As I mentioned in another thread, I had a chance to really put my car to the test this weekend- hitting the burger stands and local spots and cruising around. There's a couple strange anomolies I want to see if you guys can help with. It's my first time dealing with turbos, but I know the function of an engine pretty well and have applied that into trying to diagnose what's going on:

Problem: The car seems to stay revved quite a while when letting off the gas. For example, if I'm on the freeway and let off the gas, put the car in neutral (5spd) and coast it down the exit ramp, it stays revved up to 2k or so and very slowly settles back to idle, and quite often even loads-up and dies at the light.

What I think is happening: At first I quipped "vaccum leak". What it really seems like is happening is that the turbos are still spinning right along, well after I let-off the gas. The wastegates would control max boost, and the BOV controls spikes. But there isn't anything to keep the turbos from continuing to spin after letting off, other than their natural decelleration. Point is- it sure seems like the turbos are still forcing air past the throttle blades when my foot is off the gas(because they are spinning disproportionately with the throttle). I don't know if the air is actually overpowering the throttle springs and opening the blades, or if it's just pushing through the partially closed gap (from idle setting). So it's acting like the throttle is sticking, when it's just the turbos keeping air pressure against the topside of the blades. As long as the air continues to flow past the boosters, they are continuing to add fuel. Eventually, the turbos slow, less air is forced through, and there's a moment where the car floods, killing it.