...

Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Interior and Electrical
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2020, 11:26 AM
72Z/28's Avatar
72Z/28 72Z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Need help please to identify the problem!!

I have classic instruments gauges that were installed by the previous owner ( since 2011).

The tachometer and the speedometer used to work before taking everything apart to restore the car.

A digital tach was wired and it works fine but the analog gauge in the cluster does not work.

Regarding the speedometer, I realized that the speed signal generator ( classic instruments part no SN16) was not responding when hooking up a voltmeter while rotating the speedo shaft. So I installed a new speedo sensor for my Tremec TKO 500.

The car is suspended on 4 jack stands, so I turned on the engine, hooked the voltmeter to speed signal wire and ground at the classic instruments connector, put into 1st gear for slow rolling.

The volts started to alternate between battery volts and zero but the speedometer pointer in the cluster was not responding at all.

If the speedo pointer in the cluster was not responding, does this mean the gauge is bad and it is time to new gauge cluster

Will appreciate your input guys
__________________
72 Camaro RS:SOLD
68 Camaro:
LS6 Engine,Tremec TKO 600,5 Speed
Complete Speedtech Subframe Kit,Speedtech Torque Arm, 9" Rearend from Strange, Wilwood Brakes, Minitubbed, Hotchkis Subframe Connectors, FIKSE FM5s

Last edited by 72Z/28; 01-19-2020 at 08:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2020, 02:55 PM
72Z/28's Avatar
72Z/28 72Z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Anybody?
__________________
72 Camaro RS:SOLD
68 Camaro:
LS6 Engine,Tremec TKO 600,5 Speed
Complete Speedtech Subframe Kit,Speedtech Torque Arm, 9" Rearend from Strange, Wilwood Brakes, Minitubbed, Hotchkis Subframe Connectors, FIKSE FM5s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2020, 11:13 PM
randy randy is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 957
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Default

You sure you got all of your grounds connected?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2020, 08:17 AM
72Z/28's Avatar
72Z/28 72Z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randy View Post
You sure you got all of your grounds connected?
The grounds are connected and have a dedicated chassis ground for the speedo sensor.
__________________
72 Camaro RS:SOLD
68 Camaro:
LS6 Engine,Tremec TKO 600,5 Speed
Complete Speedtech Subframe Kit,Speedtech Torque Arm, 9" Rearend from Strange, Wilwood Brakes, Minitubbed, Hotchkis Subframe Connectors, FIKSE FM5s

Last edited by 72Z/28; 01-21-2020 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2020, 01:44 PM
blitzer454 blitzer454 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Are other functions of the gauge cluster working like the blinker indicators and other gauges like temp, oil and water? If so then I don't think it's a ground problem. You mentioned that you installed a new speed sender, is the new sender still a SN16 or something else? Did you try going through the calibration steps?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2020, 01:54 PM
72Z/28's Avatar
72Z/28 72Z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzer454 View Post
Are other functions of the gauge cluster working like the blinker indicators and other gauges like temp, oil and water? If so then I don't think it's a ground problem. You mentioned that you installed a new speed sender, is the new sender still a SN16 or something else? Did you try going through the calibration steps?
Yes all other gauges are are working except the tach and speedometer. The new sender is the SN16.

I am not sure whether the speedo pointer is supposed to move when just putting into first gear for a slow roll only as the car is suspended on 4 jack stands.

The tach, on the other hand, is sort of stuck at 1000 RPM and not functioning at all. I have heard that for LS swap, it requires a pull up resistor like 1K ohms 1/4 Watt.

I honestly have gone through the calibration steps
__________________
72 Camaro RS:SOLD
68 Camaro:
LS6 Engine,Tremec TKO 600,5 Speed
Complete Speedtech Subframe Kit,Speedtech Torque Arm, 9" Rearend from Strange, Wilwood Brakes, Minitubbed, Hotchkis Subframe Connectors, FIKSE FM5s
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2020, 02:24 PM
blitzer454 blitzer454 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I agree you may need a pull-up resistor if you're using an LS ECM for tach signal. But I think the recommended value is a 5K 1/4 watt resistor so you might want to verify that value for the ECM that you're using.

Perhaps you won't see anything on the speedo at slow speeds until after you get the speedo calibrated. So maybe focus on getting the tach to work first then wait until you get the car on the road before worrying too much about the speedo.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to blitzer454 For This Useful Post:
camcojb (01-21-2020)
  #8  
Old 01-22-2020, 08:08 AM
72Z/28's Avatar
72Z/28 72Z/28 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzer454 View Post
I agree you may need a pull-up resistor if you're using an LS ECM for tach signal. But I think the recommended value is a 5K 1/4 watt resistor so you might want to verify that value for the ECM that you're using.

Perhaps you won't see anything on the speedo at slow speeds until after you get the speedo calibrated. So maybe focus on getting the tach to work first then wait until you get the car on the road before worrying too much about the speedo.
Actually I ordered 1K ohms 1/4 watt resistor as it was recommended in some forums. Hopefully it will work. I have not connected it yet to see if the tach will respond or not.

As you said, may be I need to wait till I get the car back on the road to check the speedometer.
__________________
72 Camaro RS:SOLD
68 Camaro:
LS6 Engine,Tremec TKO 600,5 Speed
Complete Speedtech Subframe Kit,Speedtech Torque Arm, 9" Rearend from Strange, Wilwood Brakes, Minitubbed, Hotchkis Subframe Connectors, FIKSE FM5s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Lateral-g.net