Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Lateral-G Open Discussions > Project Updates
User Name
Password

Old 06-17-2017, 11:03 AM

Default My 5,4 Modular Twin Turbo 67 Mustang Fastback

Hi guys.

I hope I'm in the right place for asking technical questions concerning my 67 Mustang Fastback build.

I’m a racing driver and not a technical wizard, so please have patience if I’m asking questions that might sound idiotic to you…

The story short:

2005 bought Ford GT new, and have since over the years modified it in several ways.

Brembo ceramic brakes, Öhlins coil overs and not least Heffner TT's. 2 years ago I had the motor sent to John Mihovetz at Accufab where it had the full treatment including pistons, rods, valves, cams and billet crank. It produced a decent 1050 HP on pump gas, and that was really the limit for the GT’s standard fuel system.

I've had a blast with the car, but I'm now selling it. I figured the car was worth more in original trim, and I had a GT owner in Sweden who wanted to buy my TT engine. So I got hold of a standard engine from a wrecked GT and swabbed them over, which means I have my TT engine sitting on the floor. Potential buyer backed out, so I got this crazy idea.

Many years ago I started a 76 Fastback project, and I only have gotten as far as making the body complete with mini tub, 4 link rear and coilover front end.

So now to the point:

I'm thinking about using my GT-TT engine for this project and I have a bunch of questions to ask, so I'll list them and hope that people on this forum could chime in with their comments and answers.

Thanks.

1. Can the engine be used with the dry sump system or would I have to convert to a GT500 system?

2. Is a 6R80 trans a direct fit on the 5,4 modular block?

3. I would like the turbos to be located “behind the headlamps”, can I find readymade headers for that?