Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Engine
User Name
Password

Old 07-24-2014, 08:39 PM

Default Retarding initial timing

I know retarding initial timing can cause an engine to run hot, has anyone experienced the fuel not burning as well at idle and fouling the plugs.
Old 07-25-2014, 01:33 AM

Sounds like you need a tuner. Where are you?

Dealer for
ACCUAIR rideheight control systems
ENTROPY RADIATORS XXX radiators for your pro-touring vehicle
FORGELINE MOTORSPORTS Highline custom 3 piece wheels
WEGNER AUTOMOTIVE Custom engines and LSX drive systems
SPEEDTECH PERFORMANCE Bay Area stocking dealer

NEVER FORGET -11
Old 07-25-2014, 10:57 PM

I enjoy tinkering and learning with my car. In my opinion the whole idea of this hobby is to do your own work.
Old 07-26-2014, 01:43 AM

I agree but you have to start somewhere and its going to take experience. 8 years of high school auto shop didn't do much for me. It wasn't till I was an apprentice with hands on experience that made the difference.

When you say timing...are you referring to ignition timing or cam timing.

Are you having a problem with your car or are you just curious.

Dealer for
ACCUAIR rideheight control systems
ENTROPY RADIATORS XXX radiators for your pro-touring vehicle
FORGELINE MOTORSPORTS Highline custom 3 piece wheels
WEGNER AUTOMOTIVE Custom engines and LSX drive systems
SPEEDTECH PERFORMANCE Bay Area stocking dealer

NEVER FORGET -11
Old 07-26-2014, 07:40 AM