...

Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Cooling: Radiators/Fans/Controllers
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 11-06-2013, 09:28 PM
samckitt's Avatar
samckitt samckitt is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey Lou, you running two fans from one module or two modules, one for each fan? If two modules, you triggering both with one signal wire from the ECM?


And if Lou is running two modules, anyone know if you can run two fans from one module?
__________________
Scot
86 Monte SS
LS2/T56 Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 11-20-2013, 07:34 PM
Lous69 Lous69 is offline
Lateral-g Supporting Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We're running two fans with two modules, both triggered by the same ECU signal. Seems to work fine so far.

I believe our set up is overkill. You should be able to drive two fans with one module as long as you don't exceed the module's rating or the total amperage of the fan in the application the module was originally designed for.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 02-25-2014, 11:25 AM
samckitt's Avatar
samckitt samckitt is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Anyone ever find a source for the connector for the module itself?
__________________
Scot
86 Monte SS
LS2/T56 Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-02-2014, 02:32 AM
Syclone892's Avatar
Syclone892 Syclone892 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pewaukee WI
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have been following this post and have a question. I have a taurus fan and am getting the holley dominator which I want to make the fan powered by pwm. I was planning on get a solid state relay and send the pwm - signal to it to turn the relay on and off. I haven't checked any diagrams at work but looking at this module I am wondering is it just a nice looking solid state relay? The relay I plan on using is 4 wire so this has one extra wire, I think the extra one is + to fan motor?
Basically I would have
bat + to one side of the coil
pwm - to the other side of the coil
ground to fan motor from relay
ground from battery to relay
and I would have a + wire direct to the fan motor + wire
There would be fuses etc I was just making it quick for example. I like this module if its what I am thinking as its compact and looks more factory than a ssr, it would be nice to find the darn connector for it to finish it off though. So is it possible I could use this to power my taurus fan with my holley ecu?

Thanks to any one that can help out, this site has a lot of great info I have been taking in
__________________
David Van Hulst
'91 GMC Syclone #892
'92 GMC Typhoon #0076 Dads
'92 GMC Typhoon # Project Burnt Ty
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-02-2014, 09:55 AM
samckitt's Avatar
samckitt samckitt is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Your not going to get the PWM functionality with a relay, you need the PWM module. A relay you will get on and off, nothing else.
__________________
Scot
86 Monte SS
LS2/T56 Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:10 AM
Syclone892's Avatar
Syclone892 Syclone892 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pewaukee WI
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Scot

I am defiantly new to this stuff and trying to understand just so you know and can go easy on me
From what I have been reading the dominator will send out a pwm + or - signal, if I wire that to a solid state relay the relay is able to handle the pwm signal and will pulse the power or ground of the fan. Here is where I got the idea
http://forums.holley.com/showthread....Fan-Holley-EFI
So the way I understand it is the ecu is doing the controlling and can speed up or slow down the pwm and the relay will then pulse the power (or ground depending on hookup) to the fan.
To me thats what the stock e67 ecu is doing and sending it to this module which to me sounds like a ssr.

If I was able to get more info on this control module I may be able to understand it more but so far thats what I have gotten out of it

If this is just a nice ssr I was thinking of using it to control my fuel pump also because that is way less amps than fans.

Thanks for more info I hope I can understand this stuff even more before I have to start doing the actual work!
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 03-02-2014, 01:08 PM
samckitt's Avatar
samckitt samckitt is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hmmm, give ti a try then & see if it will work. Let us know.
__________________
Scot
86 Monte SS
LS2/T56 Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 03-15-2014, 09:20 PM
Syclone892's Avatar
Syclone892 Syclone892 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pewaukee WI
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I just got one from amazon. First thing I must say is wow its bigger than I thought. Guess I should have looked at the amazon ad where it says 6x6x4. Figured I would mention that maybe others have thought it was smaller also.

I am still waiting for the dominator to show up so I can not test anything just yet but I defiantly will when it gets here
Now on the connector I would really like to find it, my brother looked at the #'s that were posted and he said the part # is the first 5, 48769. The 4 after it has something to do with the cavity and all the others are the type of material, pa6 is some sort of material along with gf and the 15 and 30 are the percentage of gf.

We searched all the places he could think of and no luck so far. He wanted to see if anyone could get some good pics of the connector especially on where the #'s are as that helps to see what brand it is I guess.
Hes also going to check through his work his they can come up with anything.
Otherwise I told him I'm going to have him 3d print me one

Just wanted to give an update and if/when I find anything on the connector I will get the word out and hopefully be able to help someone!
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 03-24-2014, 08:56 AM
dontlifttoshift's Avatar
dontlifttoshift dontlifttoshift is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Beach Park. IL
Posts: 807
Thanks: 2
Thanked 43 Times in 26 Posts
Default

When starting from scratch, how are you guys mounting the GM AC pressure switch?
__________________
Donny

Support your local hot rod shop!
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:23 AM
parsonsj parsonsj is offline
Lateral-g Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Posts: 656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It was a 3 step process for me: 1. get a sensor from GM (I called Jeff Tate at Riverside Chevrolet). 2. Get an adapter (I went to the local auto A/C expert) for the sensor to screw in. Cost me $20. 3. Send the assembly to Vintage Air, and they brazed #8 A/C ends on the adapter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg CRW_3003.jpeg (69.0 KB, 265 views)
__________________
John Parsons

II Much Fabrication's Blog New products, Fabrication sequences, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Lateral-g.net