...

Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > LSX Conversions
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2013, 06:23 PM
samckitt's Avatar
samckitt samckitt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Default Mounting GMPP harness fuse box?

How are you mounting the fuse box?

Thanks
__________________
Scot
86 Monte SS
LS2/T56 Magnum
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2016, 01:37 PM
randy randy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 41 Posts
Default

anyone have any under dash mounting ideas? This would be for a 67 camaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2016, 06:48 PM
Vince@Meanstreets's Avatar
[email protected] Vince@Meanstreets is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,473
Thanks: 13
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randy View Post
anyone have any under dash mounting ideas? This would be for a 67 camaro
not much room under dash, especially if you have a Vintage air unit. We put them on the fender well near the factory battery location.
__________________
MEANSTREETS PERFORMANCE

Dealer for
ACCUAIR rideheight control systems
ENTROPY RADIATORS XXX radiators for your pro-touring vehicle
FORGELINE MOTORSPORTS Highline custom 3 piece wheels
WEGNER AUTOMOTIVE Custom engines and LSX drive systems
SPEEDTECH PERFORMANCE Bay Area stocking dealer

NEVER FORGET -11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2016, 07:55 PM
Vega$69's Avatar
Vega$69 Vega$69 is offline
Lateral-g Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
not much room under dash, especially if you have a Vintage air unit. We put them on the fender well near the factory battery location.
X2. Same here. If you mount under dash access is extremely difficult to access.

I move battery to trunk and mount fuse box in OEM battery tray.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2016, 11:36 PM
randy randy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 41 Posts
Default

I wouldn't mind it there the problem is the harness isn't long enough to then extend it inside the firewall so the wires come behind the engine.

how are you guys hiding the wires where they crossover from the fender to the engine?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2016, 11:59 PM
randy randy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Another thought is to mount it above the glove box liner facing down. Make a plate that bolts under the dash pad that the fuse box mounts too. If i need to mess with a fuse i can just remove the top section of the glove box to access.

Another idea is to put it on the left of the glove box and cut a opening in the glove box
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2016, 08:25 AM
gcordova22 gcordova22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello, Do you have any pictures how you mounted the fuse box. Running stock harness with no mods. many thanks


68 camaro ls1, 4L60E

Last edited by gcordova22; 01-20-2016 at 09:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2016, 06:36 PM
randy randy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 41 Posts
Default

so how is everyone hiding the harness if the fuse box and ecu are in the passenger fender area? Harness doesn't look long enough to run it back inside the car and behind the engine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2016, 07:11 PM
Efi69Cam Efi69Cam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The fuse box used is from the late 90s GM trucks with vortec engines. They have a plastic fender well mount bracket that can be modified to fit. I cut the long mounting legs down and build a bracket that bolts to the holes the battery tray mounted to. This allows easy removal of the box for service etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2016, 08:19 PM
randy randy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 41 Posts
Default

ok but how did you run your wires to the engine without being seen crossing over the firewall?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Lateral-g.net