Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Chassis and Suspension
User Name
Password

Old 07-30-2012, 05:39 PM

Default Bump steer kit - is it worth it?

My car (72 Camaro) has the usual bolt on front suspension parts (Tubular uppers, QA1 coil over’s, boxed lowers, C5 front brakes). I just changed my front spring rate and when doing so the alignment toe in got out of whack. I also received a gift card from work so I decided to get some tall ball joints and change them out before getting a new alignment since it's very simple. This got me thinking about installing a bump steer kit. Is it worth all the work?

I have started doing more and more track days. I've done 2 road course and an autocross so far this year and will hit up at least 1 more of each the remainder of the year. I'm a newbie driver and learning a lot about driving skill and tuning the car. Would there be a substantial gain on installing the bump steer or am I better off putting my time and money elsewhere?

If I install the bump steer is there somewhere I can get a bump steer gauge, borrow one, or a reputable place in Nor Cal that can install one? Is using the bump steer gauge substantially better than using a tape measure?

Thanks in advance

Steve
Old 08-08-2012, 11:55 AM

After looking at the bumpsteer gauges sold in the market I think I'm going to build my own. I was thinking about possibly making 2 changes to the standard way bumpsteer is measured, let me know your thoughts on if these changes are smart or not. I've never measured this before so I have no real world experience, I'm only thinking about other things I've done in the past with other projects.