Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Introductions > Member/Project/Vehicle Introductions
User Name
Password

Old 01-05-2007, 03:43 AM

Default Young Newbie Eager To Learn

Hello everyone, I've been hitting this site for quite a while now, but I just recently decided to become a member. I am currently a Mechanical Engineering student, but more than anything, I'm a car guy. My daily driver is a 73 Camaro with a AFR headed 383. The car is pretty rough, and I don't have any pictures yet, but I'll post them when I can. The car may not be very pretty, but I drive it everyday, and it just keeps going.

My plans are like everyone else's, pretty big. Since I am a student, I currently have no budget , but that's why I'm in school. I plan to eventually install a LS2 with a T56, along with Corvette a arms front and rear. I would love to design and build the front and rear myself, but I have a lot to learn. This site has a ton of great information, so you can bet that I'll ask for help. I also plan to reduce weight wherever possible, while maintaining a mostly steel body (composite hood and trucklid). I also want to do pretty much all the work myself. Well, that sounds like a lot to me.

I am also currently working on another project that you might find interesting. For my senior project I am on a team building a car to compete at Formula SAE Fontana. I don't know if anybody is familiar with this project, but it's a really cool project that is really teaching me a lot. I am a suspension engineer in charge of the kinetics (shocks, springs, bellcranks, and swaybars). I am also a CNC machinist on our Haas mill. Please check out our website.

www.ecs.csun.edu/sae/

I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can, as I have big dreams for my car and a lot to learn.

Chris
Old 01-05-2007, 08:34 AM

Default welcome to the site