Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > LSX Conversions
User Name
Password

Old 05-20-2016, 09:05 PM

Default which LS3 to go with?

I am new to the LS swap and am wondering if it's better to buy the 430hp version and change the cam, springs etc.. for more power? or do I just buy the 525hp version and be done with it? which is more cost effective? what should I know?

I appreciate any advise or thoughts this...

Steve
67 Camaro RS

66 Chevelle (in progress)
Old 05-20-2016, 10:04 PM

My opinion on this is that you shouldn't buy a crate motor and then open it up and modify it. Go with either the 480 or 525 and be done with it. If you are going to modify a motor, pick up an LS2 put the cam in it and new heads. I personally don't have the skills to build a motor myself and don't have an engine builder that I trust, so I felt better with a create motor.
Old 05-21-2016, 12:06 AM
Lateral-g Supporting Member

I think there's some merit to the logic in the statement above. That said, it's an intriguing question that I'm curious about as well. Seems like it would make sense to drive a 480hp version for a few years (use up the warranty) and see what you think. If the flat torque curve of that LS engine isn't enough as it comes from GMPP, tweak it later and there's really no significant money lost.

By significant I mean that you're spending 11k+ on an LS swap, what's another $800 2 years later if you decide you gotta have another 40-60hp. These cars are never really done right?

Last edited by JKnight; 05-21-2016 at 12:10 AM.
Old 05-21-2016, 07:49 AM

Default crate motor