Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Introductions > Member/Project/Vehicle Introductions
User Name
Password

Old 04-09-2008, 11:11 AM

Default Pro Touring 4th Generation Nova

All,

Long time reader, first time poster, and a new member, all bundled into one. I think I have a project in the cooker that meets the "pro touring" definition, so I wanted to join the forum and put my ride up for public inspection.

The car is a 1977 Nova that I've been tinkering with off and on for the past 16 years. Like a lot of cars, it's gone through several different "versions" and has had some different personalities. Started out as a street driven hot rod, took on a drag car look for a while, was turned into a "show car" for a bit and was shown extensively for two or three years, and then back to a street driven hot rod, although a pretty nicely detailed street car.

About a year ago I started thinking through the process of taking the street driven process to the next step and go "pro touring" with the car. Mainly I wanted to really dig into the suspension, wheels, and brakes of the car and see where that took me. As most of you know, it didn't take long to get in over my head. . .

Anyway some quick details on the car. It's about 70% finished as of now. I have already installed narrowed tubular a-arms up front with adjustable coil overs. The rear suspension is a Hot Rods to Hell truckarm setup that hangs a narrowed 8.5" ten bolt rear. Gears are 3.42s with posi. Brakes are Baer - 13s up front and 12s in the back. Those are due in this week (I hope).

I'm keeping the vintage smallblock that I've used for years in the car. It's strong and reliable if not spectacular, putting out just north of 400 horsepower. It's standard hot-rod fare, but it's easy to work on and tune, so that's what I like. I've also installed a Tremec T56 six speed behind the engine with the hope of bringing those highway RPMs down a bit. This car's all driver, and will only go on a trailer if I break it.