Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Introductions > Member/Project/Vehicle Introductions
User Name
Password

Old 07-04-2014, 01:04 PM

Default Thinking of jumping in but...

Hi All,

So I have the bug to jump in and get my dream car...70-71 Firebird.
I've come across an opportunity to buy one but since I'm new to all of this I'm full with emotions and confusion. I initially thought I could take a project on myself but I'm now feeling apprehensive about it.

I uploaded a bit about the current car in mind here:
http://www.pro-touring.com/threads/1...rd-Formula-350

Would appreciate any info/advice.
Attached Images

Old 07-04-2014, 01:38 PM
Lateral-g Supporting Member

Welcome to the site. I'm not sure since I'm not there to look at it in person. But, given you're new to all this, I think I would start out with spending more for a better car upfront. If this was purely a project car where you could take your time, years, and fix it up, then I would say go for it. Since you're wanting something to DD, I would start out with something that needs less work. That, or lower your expectations of what you want out of it as a DD. By that I mean, are you willing to drive it while it's simply primered and work on it as you can? You'd have to have a second more reliable car to fall back on and DD while this one was getting work done.

I'm all for trying to get your dream car and wish you well in your quest. I'd just hate to see your dream turn into a nightmare if you're expectations are in the proper place.

Good luck.

Current rides: 2000 BMW 540i/6 and 86 C10.

Former ride: 1979 Trans Am WS6: LT1/T56, Kore 3 C5/6 brakes, BMW 18in rims
Old 07-04-2014, 01:40 PM

Doing the entire project yourself can be a daunting task......but you'll acquire a lot of cool tools along the way.