...

Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Transmission and Rear End
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-19-2021, 11:13 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 130fe View Post
Do you have HP Tuners? You can change it that way in the gear/tire wizard in the tune. You are using the Gen V connect and cruise pcm correct?
I am using the GM connect and cruise pcm. Is HP tuner the way to go? Are there others? What other stuff will it do?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2021, 01:37 AM
shelteredV's Avatar
shelteredV shelteredV is online now
Lateral-g Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Way East L.I.
Posts: 133
Thanks: 39
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Get with a really good tuner and they can make that trans work awesome with HPT. Just make sure they have experience with tranny tuning.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shelteredV For This Useful Post:
130fe (05-20-2021)
  #13  
Old 05-20-2021, 09:01 AM
protour's Avatar
protour protour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vet57air View Post
I am using the GM connect and cruise pcm. Is HP tuner the way to go? Are there others? What other stuff will it do?
HP Tuners is your only option with stock ecu. Where in BC are you again?
__________________
72 Chevelle. 370ci LS, Forced inductions S476, SpeedTech Suspension equipped, C6 Z06 brakes
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2021, 09:19 AM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protour View Post
HP Tuners is your only option with stock ecu. Where in BC are you again?
On the island, Port Alberni
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2021, 09:55 AM
protour's Avatar
protour protour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vet57air View Post
On the island, Port Alberni
Im not super familiar that far west, You could try calling the guys at Gen III Speed in Kelowna and see if they can help you out or recommend a shop closer your way.
__________________
72 Chevelle. 370ci LS, Forced inductions S476, SpeedTech Suspension equipped, C6 Z06 brakes
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-20-2021, 05:51 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protour View Post
Im not super familiar that far west, You could try calling the guys at Gen III Speed in Kelowna and see if they can help you out or recommend a shop closer your way.
Spent the day researching HP tuners. I might pop for it as it kind of matches my back ground and we are a little remote here from professional tuners. From what I can see I would need to buy a MPVI2 and two credits. HP tuners don't make it straight forward on their site list showing what is supported as far as crate engines go. Mine is a LT4 8L90 which I purchased new in Sept. 2019. (not on their list) but they support the new LT5 so I assume they do the LT4 8L90?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-10-2021, 10:56 AM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

So I popped for the HP tuners and the first thing I was going to do was adjust the tire/ gear ratio to bring up my cruise rpm (even though I am in the middle of GM's recommendations). Pretty disappointed to find the TCM is locked. Yes I understand I could send it to HPT, WTF! Anyone else running the 8L90 transmission have feedback on their cruise rpm's?

Last edited by vet57air; 06-10-2021 at 02:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-24-2022, 03:13 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

So truck has been sleeping all winter and took it out a couple of days ago. Drove fine until I gave it significant gas and it rev'd then not several times. Came home and has check engine light on PO700 which is a transmission code and P18C2 pending. Also am told shifter positions are PRNDM. Mine and at least 2 others have one more detent, PRNDM? Heard it could be PRNDML?

Last edited by vet57air; 05-10-2022 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-25-2022, 12:05 PM
srode1 srode1 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 76
Thanks: 39
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Have you called GM or talked with a GM performance dealer about it?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-25-2022, 03:51 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 90
Thanks: 33
Thanked 97 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srode1 View Post
Have you called GM or talked with a GM performance dealer about it?
I chatted with a GM performance tech today. Says delete codes and see what happens. I asked about the extra shifter detent (2 of my buddies have same) and all I could get from him was don't use it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Lateral-g.net