...

Go Back   Lateral-g Forums > Technical Discussions > Transmission and Rear End
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-10-2022, 11:03 AM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhutton View Post
I am not talking about codes. I am talking about the BIM bus address. The instructions to change it are in the BIM instructions. There are four options. Try all four and see if the issue goes away. The permanent code will probably not clear, that is something different.

Don
Again, thz for that. So far I have not had a problem with the display. Once I get this permanent code gone hopefully I'll be good.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-10-2022, 05:38 PM
dhutton dhutton is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain Springs, Texas
Posts: 1,851
Thanks: 976
Thanked 433 Times in 241 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vet57air View Post
Again, thz for that. So far I have not had a problem with the display. Once I get this permanent code gone hopefully I'll be good.
Again, it has nothing to do with the display. The issue is a bus conflict which jacks up the ECM and generates codes etc…. Flaky stuff, just like you are describing.

Don
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-10-2022, 06:33 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhutton View Post
Again, it has nothing to do with the display. The issue is a bus conflict which jacks up the ECM and generates codes etc…. Flaky stuff, just like you are describing.

Don
Gotcha. My original code I had was P18C2 for internal mode switch. I reset several times. Now that the switch has been replaced I get P18C2 "permanent".
Cannot reset. This is suppose to go away after several "cycles" and the ECU decides the repair is good. Nice to have a backup just in case. Wouldn't that be sweet if all I needed to do is change bus setting. Lol

Last edited by vet57air; 06-11-2022 at 12:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-13-2022, 11:27 AM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

So my P18C2 "permanent" code is gone. As I had researched on the internet the error code on newer OBD2 goes "permanent" after you repair. Once the ecu sees the repair and monitors 3 fault free cycles or 1 fault free cycle after a scan tool clear DTC request, the permanent DTC will be erased. I am still amazed my GM dealer didn't know this. Caused me a lot of grief. Now back to our regular schedule of cruising and car shows.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-13-2022, 06:37 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhutton View Post
Again, it has nothing to do with the display. The issue is a bus conflict which jacks up the ECM and generates codes etc…. Flaky stuff, just like you are describing.

Don
The following are a couple of email contents I received from a Techy at Dakota Digital.

The forums are probably refering to V1.8 on BIM-01-2 for OBDII, that version polled for information that the J1850 ECU’s didn’t support/have and it would cause the ECU to go stupid and hang, then the watchdog timer would reset the ecu and it would spring back to life. This would cause fuel pump to cycle on/off and make the engine stumble or stall.
This problem does not apply to a newer CAN bus ECU.

The BIM ID’s are only used for J-1850 (late 90’s – 2006ish) ECUs. Any thing newer than 2008 is usually just CAN bus and the ID settings should have no effect (61/62 or F1/F2) (Gauge or scanner emulation) you can always try changing them but I doubt they would make any difference if you have a newer ecu.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-16-2022, 08:02 AM
Ketzer's Avatar
Ketzer Ketzer is offline
Lateral-g Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eads, TN.
Posts: 1,402
Thanks: 294
Thanked 138 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Were you able to get the manual shift to work like you wanted?



Jeff-
__________________
You remind me of the timing on a turbo engine...
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-16-2022, 02:28 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketzer View Post
Were you able to get the manual shift to work like you wanted?



Jeff-
Yes. Manual shift (paddles) works like it did before my internal mode switch failure.

Last edited by vet57air; 06-18-2022 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vet57air For This Useful Post:
Ketzer (06-16-2022)
  #38  
Old 06-29-2022, 05:14 PM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

I have a Ididit column to shift my 8 speed. My LT4 8L90 came as a crate "connect and cruise" package. Going from park to reverse takes what seems to be excessive effort. In between the other R,N,D and M positions it takes minimal effort. Anyone else have this issue? Wondering if in production cars if they have a solenoid that is energized when key is on to make easier and the crate harness doesn't have it?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-29-2022, 06:56 PM
dontlifttoshift's Avatar
dontlifttoshift dontlifttoshift is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Beach Park. IL
Posts: 928
Thanks: 10
Thanked 168 Times in 100 Posts
Default

You didn't say cable or linkage rod from the column to the trans.

Either way, it is not easy to get the geometry right. Cant see from here if yours is wrong but reclocking the arm on the column can give you more leverage when coming out of park. The further away the lever on the column is from perpendicular to the rod/cable the harder it is to move.
__________________
Donny

Support your local hot rod shop!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-30-2022, 10:23 AM
vet57air's Avatar
vet57air vet57air is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: West coast Canada
Posts: 140
Thanks: 33
Thanked 135 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontlifttoshift View Post
You didn't say cable or linkage rod from the column to the trans.

Either way, it is not easy to get the geometry right. Cant see from here if yours is wrong but reclocking the arm on the column can give you more leverage when coming out of park. The further away the lever on the column is from perpendicular to the rod/cable the harder it is to move.
Thx for that. It is cable. Whatcha think?
Name:  shifter.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  140.4 KB

Last edited by vet57air; 06-30-2022 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright Lateral-g.net